Prompt: How important are book covers in getting you to read the book?

Don’t judge the book by its cover; but if the cover looks pretty, I know I must grab it!

 NaBloPoMo13

For some people book covers might be the very least thing that matters for them in making them read the book. But, for me the book cover is the main thing that makes me read the book.  A pretty cover can easily catch my eye.

Here’s how I’d normally pick my next reading. In order:

  1. Cover – this really matters to me. I’d easily remember the books I’ve read by their covers. And an attractive cover is a must to me! I know, “Don’t judge the book by its cover”, but a pretty cover can easily attract my eyes. And I guess it’s a psychological reaction- or something.
  2. Title – A catchy title comes second.
  3. Price – This comes third. Why? Because, I don’t like spending too much on most things.
  4. Summary – this is how I would normally tell if I could relate myself to the story, or will it suit my current reading taste buds, or if it’s interesting at all.

For some, this way might not look good for them, but this is how I do my selection. I also love surprises sometimes. When I feel like I wanna surprise my self, I’ll just pick the one with the most attractive cover and head to the cashier.  🙂

Talking about books is so hard for me. I don’t know why. Do you have the same feeling?  Oh well… 😀

Photo from: favim.com
