Fun & Entertainment

Rurouni Kenshin: Kyoto Inferno | A Fan girl’s rant

I: I was not excited. Cross my left cheek!

August 20, 7:00 am Cebu – Yep, as early as seven I was already at the SM City Cebu to watch the movie. Unlike the first Rurouni Kenshin, I was unable to reserve a ticket on its first day of screening so I had to freak out and worry.

The mall opened at ten and I felt my stomach tighten as I reached the entrance doors of the mall. It felt funny I couldn’t help myself but smile and nearly laugh at my self for the crazy feeling. The guards just smiled at me and I wonder if they wondered why I was widely smiling as I enter the mall. I was just so excited I couldn’t help the butterflies in my stomach to go flying around in frenzy. The rope on my belly was so tight I couldn’t breathe until I reached the ticket booth at the third floor of the mall.

It was a relief that there was no long queue when I got there. The first screening was scheduled for 12:30 pm and I still had a couple more hours to grab a breakfast and lunch in one, so I went to French Baker. I felt a relief and calmed down a bit after getting my ticket, but still my excitement can’t be hidden from my face. I bet if there were screenshots of me from the mall doors to the ticket booth to the restaurant, the wide smile didn’t fade and my eyes were as huge as a Koala’s.

I went to the cinema at 12 and good thing they already let the viewers in to the cinema. One again, I felt a little relief that I don’t have to stand in a long line of people and hoping to get the best seat. When I got in I saw a few more people. Most of them filling in the seats of the Premier Deluxe. My best seat in a cinema? Deluxe, five to six rows far from the screen and is in middle.

There were a couple more people added into the cinema, almost filling it out. It was a weekday and I didn’t expect the crowd especially that it was during the day. There two girls beside me and for the entire show they were talking loud enough for me to get annoyed. And the worst? They were talking all so conyo (used in the Philippines as a semi-derogatory term for people who seem to be high-class and vain or conscious about their social status and speak in Taglish or broken-Tagalog mixed with English [see: http://www.urbandictionary.com]). Nevertheless, I enjoyed my 2 to 3 hours time with my most awaited movie of the year.

II: I’m hating this! And that! Oh, especially that!

 “Oro?”

Src: animeanthology.com
Src: animeanthology.com

The most beloved Kenshin expression. This does not fail to tickle any fan girl’s (and probably fan boys too) heart.

Satoh Takeru

Src: animeee.com
Src: animeee.com

He fits well to the role. Perfect, if you will allow me to say it. I love how he nails the famous “oro?” Kenshin the anime/manga version is also pretty and Takeru-kan’s pretty face really suits the role. Kenshin’s humour also comes out from his face without a hint of a script. His scar also looks very real, like he was wearing it all the time even after the first installment. Kudos to the make-up artist!
I was also amazed by this gif post on twitter. Takeru-kan wasn’t wearing any wires for this roof running scene. When asked about it, he just said: “I love running.” Lol, good thing you didn’t get hurt. I love you! (Declaring it to the world).
An hour or so later

Sanosukeeeeeeee!!!!

Src: www.greatestmoviesofalltime.net
Src: http://www.greatestmoviesofalltime.net

He’s really full of liveliness and Mune-san really fits the role too!

Cho x Kenshin

Src: kenshin.wikia.com
Src: kenshin.wikia.com

The fight scene was awesome! I couldn’t help but gasped at every swing of his sword that almost and even hit Kenshin’s chest. I felt like killing him! Haha! But how did you react to the wink he gave to Kenshin? I didn’t help my squeal the two conyo girls stopped talking for a while.

Sano x Kenshin

Src:  https://www.facebook.com/warnerbrosphils
Src: https://www.facebook.com/warnerbrosphils

Nothing beats this love team tandem! I almost jumped from my seat as I thought about Yaoi to that scene. You know what scene was that! C’mon, don’t be shy. I bet every time you remember it, you can’t help the thoughts running in your mind. Haha!

Soujiro x Kenshin

Src: www.archonia.com
Src: http://www.archonia.com

They have same technique with probably the same speed. The only difference? One is happy to kill, the other was not. And I am looking forward for more fight scenes from these two equally talented actors.

Sano x Megumi

Src: www.istorya.net
Src: http://www.istorya.net

Okay, I’m going to be honest. Even with the first movie (Rurouni Kenshin), I couldn’t feel Takeru-kan and Emie-san’s chemistry (Is it just me?). With the first movie, I was more thrilled with the Megumi x Kenshin scenes than the Kaoru x Kenshin’s. And now, the way Megumi looks at Sano really makes me think she’s got something for him. The way she also acts like she don’t care although she’s really concerned with him, makes me want to scold Sano for not recognizing her and her little actions.

Kaoru x Mikay
Untitled

She looked or does she really looks like Mikay (a character in a local tv series)? Even in person, does Emi Takie looks like Kathryn Bernando (local celebrity)? I didn’t realize this until this movie.

Yumi

Src: www.geeksplode.com
Src: http://www.geeksplode.com

Maryjun Takahashi is so awesome! I am so proud that a half-Filipina made it to this movie. Those who are in love with Yumi, probably hates Keishi Ohtomo now. Yumi’s past and why she’s so in love with Shishio was not told in this movie and I am really hoping that it will be told in the last installment. Because without it, she would end up just like any other ordinary woman of a villain- aka a slut.

Shiiiiiishioooooooo!!!!

download (2)
I hate you! I love you! Fujiwara Tatsuya is such an effective villain I couldn’t help my anger towards his character.

Fight scenes + background music
Please feel a little relief for this part of the list. Haha! I couldn’t help but felt more chills to the fight scenes because of the music. I didn’t realize how great an orchestra-like music is to a well-choreographed fight scenes. Kudos to the action and music directors! Your talents set apart from the nevertheless common rock-ish drum rolls into a boxing-like fight scene or the no-sweat bomb explosion behind the main character.

Samurai x Ninja
I love the idea!

Fukuyama Masaharu

Src: https://www.facebook.com/fukuyamamasaharu.official/
Src: https://www.facebook.com/fukuyamamasaharu.official/

Breathe in, breathe out… and then fan girl squeal for an hour or two. Okay, I’m totally super-duper gaga over this man since Like Father, Like Son. That was love at first sight and my heart couldn’t help but sigh so loud. I was so excited to see him that I was a bit disappointed (to the point of screaming- literally in the cinema) that his appearance was towards the end of the movie. I didn’t realize until I re-watched the movie a week after that his role will play a very important part to Kenshin’s life on the third installment. And no matter how much I hate that The Legend Ends will be the last installment of this franchise, I am looking forward to see more of him (nope, not the shirtless thing going on in your mind now… although I’d like to say, yes too) on the next movie. I hope no one will sue me for declaring my growing obsession- I mean love to Masaharu-san. Haha!

I re-watched the movie a week after because I couldn’t help it. And no matter how much closer I looked to each scene to spot something wrong, I failed. Honestly, unlike any other action or fiction movies I have watched, I would like to say Rurouni Kenshin stands out from the rest. Perfect! If I may say so. No hint of wires here and there. The fight scenes are well choreographed; I don’t want to blink an eye, afraid to miss something. They were really fast and just amazing! Although, some fight scenes won’t beat the jaw-dropping, breath-taking fight scenes in the first movie. But I believe there’s something more in the last installment and I am so excited for it.

The Legend Ends will attack the Philippine cinemas on September 24… and I am hoping not to shed some tears for this third installment.

 

Featured Photo From: https://www.facebook.com/RurouniKenshinTheMovie

2 thoughts on “Rurouni Kenshin: Kyoto Inferno | A Fan girl’s rant”

Comment

