“Live as if you’re dying tomorrow.”

I’ve seen, heard, was told and have told someone about this quote of whoever it came from; I don’t know. I don’t know about you but there are days I evaluate the things I have done the previous day to check if there are any reasons for me to die the following day. This usually happens whenever I ride a vehicle. No matter how confident and trusting I am, there are those days that remind me that I don’t have the full control of my life therefore, I will never know when and how I am going to die.

I grew up in a small town where most of the people who died have done something really strange the day or a few moments before they’re gone for forever. Just like most of my friends and relatives who already left from this world. Normally, there will be some “last words” or “last deeds” and they’re typically unusual.

My great grandmother told my mother that’s she’s been visited by her dead parents and brothers with a big white dog, few days before she left us. My mother knew right away that she only had a couple of days remaining, so she had her enjoy the rest of the days. One of my grandmothers too have had unusual stories and behavior before she died. I haven’t witnessed all of them because I was studying in a city too far away from home. Although, on her last Christmas, I was able to speak with her on the phone and she told me a lot of things that according to her may help me in the future.

My friend, Amo Gani on the other hand was quiet different. He was actually inviting us to go with him to the beach. It was a Sunday so we refused because my sister and I knew that our parents will not allow us. On the same day, the accident happened. He drowned and was found dead 2 days later. Recalling the time he was inviting us, he’s smile was quiet different and the look on his face was really sad when we said no. It was as if he’s telling us to enjoy with him the last moments of his life. I didn’t notice the difference though until the accident happened. He was always happy and turns sad whenever his friends have problems or refuses him, so I didn’t mind the strange feeling that day.

Sometimes no matter how much I am used to this kind of belief, I tend to overlook signs and just treat them like any other days. However, whenever my focus and all of my senses are intact and working, I become more careful, nicer and happier even without special reasons. I just want to live as if I’m dying tomorrow – which by the way I’m praying will not happened too soon. 🙂

